Any active musicians and here? let's talk

John Benson

Hi. I'm a new member looking for some music buddies to talk shop with. I  saw an order thread titled " sex drugs and rock and roll "   but it doesn't seem to active. Basically I'm looking for music pals and new friends and I figured that compared to other music specific forums folks who reply here will most likely have other things in common if you know what I mean.

About me. Guitar for about 33 years.i m 44 now.pretty serious about it except the few years I took off when my wife got cancer and we  then went through a painful divorce and I succumbed to some pretty heavy h and alcohol abuse.  I still listened though during those times and wrote sporadically but my chops went to shit.

I would consider myself a rock player but attempt to play classical and other styles. I am primarily self taught except when I went to Berklee for 1 semester but dropped out cause I was also busy drinking doing blow and chasing college girls around Boston. Also I was gigging regularly so thought I was all set. Young and dumb.i wish I would have taken it more seriously because I could have learned a lot. 

My influences are really all over the place but at this point I an just inspired by anyone who plays or creates art.

But some of my key peeps are hendrix, the doors stevie wonder  early slayer and metalica joni michel  p funk...the family stone...Roy Clark  yngwie malmsteen...Florence  and the machine. .led fucking zeppelin..and classical guys bach  Vivaldi and the like.  Allman bro too and I'm a big dead head. Millions of influences really 

Currently I play a strat and my classicsl. Have had to let a lot of my babies go though over the years due to being broke when younger and when I got divorced I had to dump a lot of gear and split the cash with my wife. Such is life I guess. 

Tell me about you. 

Peace 

JB