Do you know anything about psych meds, dopamine, and kratom?

deadly

I've been using kratom on and off for about three years, this is my third and final time kicking. The second time I kicked, I noticed my stimulant medication which I take for a sleep disorder stopped working. It wasn't until a week after kicking that my meds started to work again. 

Yesterday was my first 24 hours without kratom, my stims were working ok, until I got my hands on xanax. I took about six pills throughout the day. 

I woke up this morning and my stimulants are barely taking the fog out of my eyes, where on a normal drug free day I'd be great. 

Should I stay away from any psychotropic meds until the kratom is completely out of my brain for a few weeks? I don't want to fuck up my meds. 

My first problem with stims not working is when I was taking abilify, which will block stimulants to an extent for years, then bam, abilify makes stims stop working all out. So I stopped. The only rx meds I'm on now is Vyv 2x daily and xnx prn. 

I even noticed that dopamine replenishing supplements will keep my stims from working. 

Any advice for this noob? It's so hard to function without my stims. I def. don't think I have a tolerance, I think substances are inhibiting the stims function. I'm def. staying away from anything psychoactive for a bit and then I'll experiment a little once my neurotransmitters are at a decent function. 

Anyway to speed this along holistically without resorting to anything that messes with my brain chemicals? 

Thanks so much!!! 

I look forward to being off kratom, it's expensive and I would rather buy expensive makeup. The worst part is that I do get depressed a week after the acute withdrawal and makes me want to start again. 

Last edited by a moderator:
This is an old topic and I'm sad nobody answered it as I am curious myself.