Experience With Back Injections For Pain?

Caramel

Hi. I'm new here. Not sure where to post. I looked up pain clinics and it shot me into a few different topics. What I'm dealing with is an unknown cause of back pain (nothing significant showed on MRI) but chronic back pain for years. I work in the medical field and look where I end up going to for pain relief, to outside sources!! I've had 3 major work related injuries and have been in several MVA's , and dating back to first work injury where I slipped in water that's when pain started and never stopped. Of course all claims are closed and everyone says "you are better " hahaha . My primary Dr got to the point of prescribing nothing for pain except adjunctive meds: antidepressants, NSAIDS, anti seizure, etc. First pain dr recommended NO pain meds only injections. I got outta there fast. He obviously only wanted business for himself. Current pain Dr more varied with txs but is again suggesting injections. He does Rx me some PK 10's ( like I got a whopping 8 to last me 3 weeks this time). Ran out a few days ago. Now in worse pain than ever today /default_sad.png so dang frustrated with this health care system I work in!! I made an order down south and paying tomorrow so will get some relief soon. But jeez I don't know what to do with this dr. I haven't heard that injections do any more good than anything else I've tried and believe me I've tried it all...at least as far as non-invasive treatments. Any input those experienced with this???

I have had the injections and they were somewhat painful and did not relieve my symptoms at all. Not that this is typical of everyone, I have heard of some getting relief. Everyone's injuries are so different it makes sense that what works for some, does not for others. It is definitely a money making venture for some pain doctors. Why write a presription when you can charge a fortune for the injections? I would say if you are insured, it's worth trying.