8MG Kl0nopon taper

Bren45

I’ve been on 8mg Kl0pon for about 3 years.

does anyone have any taper recommendations or substances to help cut down my dose? I would like to be down to 3mg a day. I’m considering trying Lyrica with a V@lium taper.... thoughts 

Not sure if youre already familiar with this resource, but the Ashton Manual is considered one of the best guides to cutting down with the least side effects or without getting PAWS.  It can be found here: Ashton Manual . She recommends not using other meds to help with the taper but hopefully others here who've done it can chime in with their experiences.  Ive never done it so have no experience of my own.  Good luck and let us know how it goes!

@Bren45 I was on 8 mg for about 5 years, as prescribed for Panic Disorder. I realized that while I had relief from the Panic attacks, other parts of my life were suffering (work, I'm an artist and personal relationships). My doctor started me on a slow taper. It took two years, and I had a few freak outs but I'm down to a minimal 2 mg per day. I tried to go lower, but was unable to tolerate the inevitable return of crippling panic attacks. Weather it is my natural chemistry or the changes to it as a result of taking 8mg for so long....I can't be sure. But I can live with the 2mg. Be kind to yourself. Good luck and I look forward to hearing about your progress. Take care.

Thank you both!

I’m going to start the taper at .05 every 2 weeks, and want to stabilize around 2-3MG and remain at that dose.

The Ashton manual is great.  I do not think a .5 drop every 2 weeks will be in that brutual. There are days where I have taken 6 mg , usually weekends and didn’t notice anything. I’m going to start to dosing 1 hour later each day as I’m on a schedule and let my body react and adjust. I have x@n on hand in case of a major panic attack. 
so far I only took 1MG today and honestly feel pretty relaxed, normally I would be at 4Mg by noon