MDMA replacement RCs and organic chem question

1rocketcycle

I've seen some recipes for blends that can sub for MDMA with mixed results and wanted to share my thoughts and see what you more-experienced people would suggest, since I'm new at this. I'm a neuroscientist with some chemistry training, so I'm not totally clueless about the mechanisms involved - I just haven't directly experienced almost everything (2 or 3 MDMA, 1 5-MAPB, 1 5-MAPB/4-AcO-DMT combo) and I know there's a lot of inter-person variation.

So, I'm fine-tuning a blend to attempt to replace MDMA as closely as possible, since I moved to an area where the opioid crisis hit so badly that the authorities are ludicrously vigilant 🤬. I got a pack of good 5-MAPB from Smokey's and 4-aco-DMT from a darknet vendor, so I know things can get through, but two shipments of real MDMA - 1 pill, 1 rock/powder - failed even with reships. I may be able to set up a POB in California (I visit every couple months for work) but it'd be a whole lot easier and less risky to come up with a replacement blend.

After lots of reading at Erowid and Psychonaut Wiki I decided to try a combo of 4-FA, 5-MAPB, and 4-AcO-DiPT. Then finding out that 4FA is long gone, went with 4-FMA. I get the empathogenic warm fuzzies from 5-MAPB (feels very sensory-serotonergic, at least with temp and tactile responses). Haven't tried 4-FMA, but I didn't want too much stimulation from it, more the euphoria/entactogen feel, and it sounded like the 2- and 3-F versions were much more straight-amphetamine-like. Finally, I want the tingly mild psychedelics of 4-AcO-DiPT and (from the user experiences) the increased libido/sexual sensation that seem to go with it. 👩‍❤️‍👨